Generally, all firearms purchases and transfers, including private party transactions and sales at gun shows, must be made through a California licensed dealer under the Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) process. California law imposes a 10-day waiting period before a firearm can be released to a purchaser or transferee. A person must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun. To purchase a handgun, a person must be at least 21 years of age.
As part of the DROS process, the purchaser must present “clear evidence of identity and age” which is defined as a valid, non-expired California Driver’s License or Identification Card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). A military identification accompanied by permanent duty station orders indicating a posting in California is also acceptable.
If the purchaser is not a U.S. Citizen, then he or she is required to demonstrate that he or she is legally within the United States by providing the firearms dealer with documentation containing his/her Alien Registration Number or I-94 Number.
Purchasers of handguns must provide (2) proofs of California residency, such as a:
- utility bill
- residential lease
- property deed
- government-issued identification (other than a drivers license or other DMV-issued identification)
- and either (1) possess a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) plus successfully complete a safety demonstration with their recently purchased handgun or (2) qualify for an FSC exemption.
Bringing Firearms To Our Location For Transfer
Any firearms brought to our location for transfer must be UNLOADED and in a LOCKED case or container. If you don’t have a lock come in WITHOUT your firearm and purchase a cable lock from us.
Incoming dealer transfers and in store private party transfers require an appointment. We do not accept walk in transfers. Contact us to setup an appointment for firearms transfers.
Paperwork Process – Estimated Time 30 minutes @ Ten Ring
- On your Transfer appointment day…
- You will bring in the paperwork listed on the left
- The dealer will make copies of your documentation
- You will fill out paperwork to satisfy Federal ATF requirements – Form 4473
- Your information will be inputted by dealer for State requirements – DROS
- You’ll put your right thumbprint on back of DROS documentation when completed
- Your 10 x 24 hour waiting periods will begin
Pickup Process – Estimated Time 15 minutes @ Ten Ring
- On your Pick Up appointment day…
- You will complete a Safe Handling Demonstration with the dealer and sign paperwork.
- You will then present an approved Firearms Safety Device or sign a Gun Safe Affidavit. Note: The Gun Safe Affidavit only applies to non-handguns. All handguns require a lock from the approved Firearms Safety Device list.
Transfer Type & Fees
Any time the firearm is SHIPPED to us, it is a dealer transfer, regardless of who shipped it, or where the shipment originated. It is NOT a private party transfer.
PRIVATE PARTY TRANSFER
A private party transfer occurs when BOTH the buyer and the seller are in the physical presence of the transferring FFL (that means they both physically came in to the store), and BOTH are CA residents, and BOTH have valid CA identification.
Internet Dealer Transfer:
$200 Transfer Fee +
$31.19 CA Background Check Fee +
Applicable Sales Tax
Private Party Transfer:
$41.19 Transfer Fee
We ONLY accept Cash for transfers. No Credit Cards are accepted for transfers.